English / Teaching

Have you just received a disappointing mark?

Do you think your professor hates you? You try your best but, no matter what you do, can’t get above a 12?  This should give you some food for thought:

“Dear Student: I Don’t Lie Awake At Night Thinking of Ways to Ruin Your Life

“When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.” 1 Corinthians 13:11 (KJV)

One of the popular myths of higher education is that professors are sadists who live to inflict psychological trauma on undergraduates. Perhaps you believe that we pick students at random and then schedule all our assignments in such a way as to make those students’ lives as difficult as possible. The older I get and the longer I do this, the more I recognize that we (the professors) need to be more transparent about our philosophies of evaluation. How does this work? Let’s clarify a few things… read more

PS Thanks to Kyle Schneider for sharing this article with me.

